Köfte

I’ve been making lamb köfte for a few years now, having finagled the recipe from a Turkish friend. Though I must admit that I’ve taken some liberties with the version passed down from my friend’s mother, my understanding is that it is A-OK.

Much like American meatloaf, the basic concept of Turkish köfte may be the same from household to household, but every cook has his or her own recipe. In fact, my friend tells me that köfte recipes can be the subject of serious debate in some families.

I promise that you will love these tasty meatballs. They are delicious! Even my husband, who is not a fan of lamb, enjoys them. This means that: a) I’m a bad wife for cooking lamb when he doesn’t like it, or b) these köfte are kick-ass delicious. I like to think that ‘b’ is the correct answer.

Generally, I serve these with another of my friend’s stand-bys: shredded zucchini sauted with garlic and mint. My friend serves the zucchini with a dollop of plain yogurt, for a creamy counterpoint.

You could also slice the köfte and tuck them into pita with tomato, cucumber and some yogurt with dill. I have also grilled them as a kebab, forming the meat mixture around a wooden skewer. Yum!

Another thing to recommend köfte is that kids love ‘em. Served with a yogurt or marinara dipping sauce, they perk up a ho-hum lunchbox.

Köfte
1 lb ground lamb
1 small handful of parsley
½ medium onion
1 garlic clove
1 tsp – 1 T red pepper paste (find in Middle Eastern markets, called Aci Biber Salçası, or you can substitute a pinch of red pepper flakes or ½ tsp hot paprika)
1 tsp ground cumin
1 tsp salt (or to taste)
½ tsp grated lemon zest
1 tsp dried mint
1 egg
1 cup bread crumbs

In a food processor, pulse parsley, onion, garlic and red pepper. In a large bowl, mix together this mixture with the lamb and remaining spices. Lightly beat the egg and combine it, along with the bread crumbs, with the meat mixture. Form the meat into slightly oblong forms, using your finger to make a depression along the center. Place on a baking sheet covered with foil (this will make them easier to remove after baking). You should have about 16 köfte. Bake at 375 degrees for about 35 minutes.

3 thoughts on “Köfte

  1. I was on a meatball kick for a while — this is certainly a variation worth trying. And if I haven’t told you… I pretty much like everything you like!

Leave a comment